Information about the Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) outbreak

The SATA Group airlines have been permanently monitoring the evolution of the outbreak of the new Coronavirus Covid-19 and have been following the recommendations issued by the competent national and international entities, namely the IATA (International Air Transport Association), by the World Health Organization (WHO), by the European Center of Disease Prevention and Control, as well as by the General Directorate of Health and, equally, by the national aeronautical entity, ANAC.

It was recommended to take some preventive measures, which are common in situations of this nature, and which are already implemented onboard SATA Group’ aircraft:

– Reinforcement of individual protection measures (individual masks);
– Availability of new prevention kits on board, in addition to the existing first aid kits;
– Reinforcement of disinfectant units for the correct hygiene of hands and common work areas;
– Reinforcement of the communication of procedures to be adopted by the crew members, who will act under the instructions issued by the health authorities for the air transport sector, whenever passengers show signs of illness, such as fever, acute cough or respiratory problem.

In parallel, the adoption of individual, simple behaviors, appropriate to this and other social circumstances, is always recommended. To know:

– Wash your hands frequently with soap and water for 20 seconds, and especially after blowing your nose, sneezing or coughing.
– Cover your nose and mouth (with a handkerchief and never with your hands) when sneezing or coughing.
– In case of fever or general malaise, the passenger should consult the doctor before making their trip, or call in advance the National Health Line (No. 808 24 24 24 ) or the Regional Health Line (Azores) 808 24 60 24, for greater peace of mind and prevention.

You can learn more about the new Covid-19 Coronavirus outbreak on the World Health Organization website here.

We would like to point out that, currently, there are some restrictions on the entry of passengers from China into the United States of America, issued by the US Department of Homeland Security:

– Eleven American airports were defined to receive flights with passengers from China. At these eleven airports, the US Government has implemented advanced screening procedures and the ability to quarantine passengers, should the need arise.

– In addition, American citizens who were in the province of Hubei in the 14 days before their return, will be subject to up to 14 days of mandatory quarantine to ensure that they are provided with adequate medical care and examinations.

– American citizens who have been in other areas of China in the 14 days before their return will be subjected to proactive screening and up to 14 days of self-quarantine with monitoring, to ensure that they have not contracted the virus and that they are not a public health risk.

– In general, foreign citizens (other than close family members of American citizens, permanent residents, and flight crew) who traveled in China in the 14 days before their return, will be denied entry to the United States.

– US Customs and Border Protection and air carriers are working together to identify and accommodate any passenger that meets these criteria, however other passengers not connected to China may be routed to one of these eleven airports if discovered, during the flight, that someone on their flight has been in China for the past 14 days.

– Travelers who show symptoms should be prepared for the possibility of a prolonged delay to prevent the infection from spreading.

American citizens flying to the United States from China will be rerouted to the following airports at no cost to the passenger:

John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York
Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD), Illinois
San Francisco International Airport (SFO), California
Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA), Washington
Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL), Hawaii
Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), California
Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport (ATL), Georgia
Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD), Virginia
Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), New Jersey
Dallas / Fort Worth International Airport (DFW), Texas
Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW), Michigan